Cost of Attendance

Tuition, Fees, and Refund Policies

Note: Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice. For current tuition and fee rates, please visit the College's website

Day State-supported Courses

Massachusetts Residents1

Summer 2016Fall 2016 onward
Tuition per credit hour$25.00$25.00
College fees per credit hour$177.00 $182.00
Total per credit hour$202.00 $207.00

Massachusetts resident students are defined as a U.S. citizen or resident alien who has lived in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for at least six continuous months preceding the beginning date of the academic period for which he/she seeks to enroll. All International students attending this college with a student visa must pay non-resident tuition.

New England Regional Student Program (see New England Regional Student Program)

Summer 2016Fall 2016 onward
Tuition per credit hour$37.50$37.50
College fees per credit hour$177.00$182.00
Total per credit hour$214.50$219.50

Non-resident & International Students

Summer 2016Fall 2016 onward
Tuition per credit hour$230.00$230.00
College fees per credit hour$177.00 $182.00
Total per credit hour$407.00 $412.00

Non-State Supported Courses offered through the Division of Lifelong Learning & Workforce Development

(Includes some day courses, all WEB courses, and all courses offered at Leominster, Devens, and Fitchburg Campuses.)

Summer 2016Fall 2016 onward
Tuition per credit hour$25.00$25.00
College fees per credit hour$177.00 $182.00
Total per credit hour$202.00 $207.00

Tuition and Fees for Auditing Courses

If a student chooses to audit a course they will be charged tuition and fees based on their residency status and the above rates.


Program Fees

In addition to the regular tuition and college fees, several programs are charged program fees. See below for your program.

Automotive Technology Certificate and Degree (ATC & ATD)$3,200 first semester charge (mandatory automotive tool kit)
Dental Assisting Certificate (DAC)$350 per semester
Dental Hygiene Degree$2,225 per semester
Emergency Medical Technical Training (XEMT)$55 certification exam administration fee upon successful completion of HCC 111, HCC 112. (See program sheet for a complete list of exam fees.)
Nursing Degree -- LPN Bridge (NUP)$1,100 per semester (excluding the first spring semester when enrolled in NUR 116)
Nursing Degree -- Day (NU)$850 per semester
Nursing Degree -- Evening (NUE)$850 per semester
Practical Nursing Certificate (PN)$1,100 per semester

Additional Expenses—All Students

Registration fee$50.00 per semester
Technology access fee (1-8 credits)$75.00 per semester
Technology access fee (9+ credits)$100.00 per semester
Health insurance2$1,629.00 (September - August)
Health insurance2$1,088.00 (January - August for spring semester students entering in January)
LEM (laboratory, equipment, and materials fee3$10.00 per credit for laboratory and other equipment-intensive courses
Liability insurance4$15 per specified course
Student activity fee$20.00 per semester for students taking nine credits or more per semester

State law mandates that students (with nine credits or more per semester) carry health insurance if not currently insured. There is a mandatory basic plan insurance charge for all students enrolled in nine or more credits. A student who has adequate medical coverage may request a waiver by going to Gallagher Student Health Plans. Free care is not considered adequate medical coverage. The cost for this plan is set by a committee representing all Massachusetts community colleges and is subject to change annually.  The fees listed above are the 2016-17 rates.


LEM (laboratory, equipment and materials) fee applies to all courses with prefixes: ACC 227 Computerized Accounting, AQS, ASL, ART, AUT, BIO (except BIO 103 Human Health And Disease ), CAD, BTC, CET, CHE, CIS, CLS, EAS, EGM 105 Introduction to Energy Management Principles, EGM 115 Sustainability and the Built Environment, EGM 125 Energy Analysis And Auditing, EGM 220 Heating And Cooling Systems, EGM 280 Sustainable Building Operations And Maintenance, EET, EKG, EOA 106 Keyboarding, EOA 107 Word Processing Applications, FST, GID, HCC, HEA 115 Nurse Assistant Theory, HEA 116 Nurse Assistant Practicum, HEA 117 Acute Care CNA Training, HEA 118 Home Health Aide, HIM, MAS (except MAS 102 Medical Terminology), MET, MLT, MRT, MTC, PHY, PLB, PLT, PTA, SPA, WPT, and to all courses with a campus code "WEB".


Liability insurance applies to the following courses: CED 203, CJU 252, EGM 290, EKG 101, HEA 116, HIM 103, HIM 200, HST 250, ISC 220, MAS 207, MAS 211, MAS 250, MLT 103, MLT 220, PLB 101, PLB 203, PHE 250, PTA 102, PTA 114.

Cancelation for Non-payment of Charges

Payment of all charges is due in full by the due date specified on the student bill. Students whose accounts have not been paid in full, or otherwise cleared through commitments by other sources, will be subject to cancelation of class enrollment. Students will not be allowed to re-enroll without proper payment.

Payment Options

The College accepts payment of tuition and fees by cash, check, money order, Discover, Visa, and MasterCard. A monthly payment plan is also administered by the FACTS/NELNET Co. financial aid, scholarships, waivers and third party payments are also means available to satisfy payment of the applicable tuition and fees.

Credit Cards

Students may use MasterCard, VISA or Discover to pay their tuition and fees. If using a credit card, please go online and log in to your iConnect account. Click on the "How to Pay My Bill" tab and then choose Make a Payment (full or partial).

Payment Plan

Students may enroll in a monthly payment plan administered by FACTS/NELNET. A modest enrollment fee is charged but no interest is charged. This option is only available for the fall and spring full semesters. Details on the plan can be found at this link.

Third Party Payment

Occasionally a student’s employer or outside agency will satisfy all or part of their obligation to the college. Under these circumstances, authorization from the company or agency is required in order to stop cancelation of classes for non-payment. Please contact MWCC Student Accounts at 978-630-9149 with any questions or to submit proper documentation. Students may be required to pay for the course in order to continue if all requirements are not met.

Waivers, Scholarships and Financial Aid

Tuition waivers (for example: senior citizen tuition waivers, veterans waivers, and state-contract driven employee benefits) are required to be submitted to MWCC Student Accounts prior to start of classes. Students without documentation may have their classes canceled for non-payment.

Refund Options

MWCC has partnered with BankMobile to deliver refunds.  For more information regarding refunds, please click here.

Refund Policy

In the case of withdrawal, an official withdrawal form must be completed.

Credit Courses

The college refund policy for tuition and other fees is as follows (this policy is subject to change without notice):

Administrative withdrawal due to non-attendance (failure to participate for online courses)0% (50% effective Spring 2016 onward)
Prior to the classes starting100%
Through the first week of classes100%
Duing the second week of classes50% (excluding reg. fee & info. tech. fee)
After the second week of classes0%
If a class is canceled by the college100% tuition and fees

Prior to the start of each semester, the MWCC Records Office publishes the academic calendar, which includes the exact dates that define this refund policy.   Student financial assistance recipients will have their refunds calculated according to applicable federal regulations for sessions of eight weeks or less (including all summer courses); each class will be considered to be one week for the refund calculation above.  Weekend courses, intersession courses, modular courses, distance learning courses (excluding WEB courses), telecourses, cooperative education, and other non-standard length courses have a special refund policy. Please contact the MWCC Records Office for detailed information.

Noncredit Courses

Prior to seven days before first class meeting100% refund
After first class0% refund

Senior Citizen and Massachusetts Tuition/Fee Waivers

A. Students 60 years and older and who are Massachusetts residents for at least one year are eligible for waiver of credit based tuition and fees on a space available basis. Eligible senior citizens may not register for classes until one week prior to the start of classes, if space is available, to take advantage of the senior citizen tuition and fee waiver. Individuals registering prior to that time will be expected to pay all applicable tuition and fees. Please call MWCC Student Accounts for further information at 978-630-9149.

B. The Massachusetts legislature has approved a number of tuition waiver programs, Categorical Tuition Waivers, for individuals meeting certain criteria. These waivers include the Veterans Tuition Waiver, the Massachusetts National Guard Tuition and Fee Assistance Program, the Massachusetts Rehabilitation Client Waiver, the Native American Waiver, and others. Eligible individuals must present proof of eligibility to receive a tuition waiver of state-supported tuition (classes with a billing attribute of B100). Fees and non-state supported tuition will only be waived when the enabling legislation calls for such action.

C. Eligibility requirements include the following criteria: Be accepted to a degree or certificate program; be enrolled in at least three credits per semester; be making satisfactory academic progress; be a permanent legal resident of Massachusetts for at least one year; be a US citizen or eligible non-citizen; not be in default of a student loan; be in compliance with Selective Service laws. Auditing classes and enrolling in classes that are not required by the student’s degree program will not be covered by these waivers.

Unpaid Debt Policy

It is MWCC’s policy that students or former students having any unpaid obligations for tuition or any fees due the college and who have not made acceptable arrangements for settlement of such obligations, will be subject to the withholding of any grades, grade reports, transcripts, diplomas and certificates, and will not be eligible to enroll in any course or program of the college until satisfactory settlement of unpaid debts. Students will incur all costs of collection if the college must place their accounts with a collection agency and with the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for intercept of other state payments (tax refunds, etc.). All receipts for payment must be issued in the student’s name, regardless of who is paying the bill. Former students who have a current student loan default will be subject to the same prohibitions.